Sacramento Drunk Driving Accident Attorneys
Over $1 Billion Recovered in Compensation for Our Clients
Despite the safety advantages of ridesharing services like Uber or Lyft, drunk driving is still a dangerous issue in California. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 1.8% of drivers in the state admitted to driving while intoxicated. Considering there are more than 26 million licensed drivers in California, 1.8% equates to more than 471,000 drivers who have, at one time or another, sat behind the wheel of a vehicle after having too much to drink.
If you were injured by a drunk driver, Kershaw, Cook & Talley can fight for the compensation you deserve. Our Sacramento DUI injury accident attorneys has more than a century’s worth of collective experience, so you can rely on our knowledge and skill to ensure the responsible party is held accountable for their damaging actions.
Call Kershaw, Cook & Talley at (916) 520-6639 to request a free initial case review.
California DUI Laws & Determining Liability
In California, anyone found driving with a BAC, (blood alcohol content), of 0.08% or higher could be found responsible for driving under the influence. Additionally, adults under the age of 21, the legal drinking age, found driving with a BAC of 0.01% or higher could be convicted of a DUI.
The negligent party should face criminal charges for their actions, but they should also be held accountable for the harm they caused you, and anyone else. Drunk driving accidents can be exceedingly damaging— physically, financially, and emotionally, which is why we want to do everything in our power to help you take legal action against the liable party.
How Can California’s Dram Shop Law Impact My Case?
Generally, in a car accident case, there are two parties involved – the injured person and the person responsible for the accident. In a social host or dram shop case, an injured person can seek damages from the host or vendor who gave or sold the individual alcohol. Through this provision, the injured party may be able to seek compensation from both the liable driver and the alcohol supplier. That said, California’s dram shop laws are severely limiting when it comes to third-party liability, nearly absolving bars, hosts, and other vendors of liability in drunk driving cases.
However, there are some circumstances in which an injured person can file a personal injury lawsuit against a third-party for providing or selling alcohol to the driver who injured them.
An injured person may be able to file a lawsuit against a third-party in the following circumstances:
- An adult supplied alcohol to an individual under the age of 21.
- A business sells alcohol or otherwise provides it to a minor who is obviously intoxicated.
- For a personal injury lawsuit against a third-party to succeed, you must demonstrate the provision of alcohol to the minor was the proximate cause of the accident.
Damages Available to Drunk Driving Accident Victims
If you or a loved one sustained injuries in an accident caused by a drunk driver, you may be entitled to damages.
Compensation in a drunk driving accident case can include:
- Medical expenses
- Property damage
- Lost wages or reduced earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
- Permanent disability
- Emotional distress
Discuss Your Case with a Drunk Driving Accident Attorney Today
At Kershaw, Cook & Talley, our Sacramento drunk driving accident attorneys have recovered over $1 billion on behalf of our clients, and we’ve handled countless car accident cases. We understand the difficulties you and your family are experiencing, which is why we do not charge legal fees unless we win your case. Take this time to focus on recovering from your injuries and getting back on your feet while our team takes care of the rest.
Contact us today at (916) 520-6639 to schedule a free consultation.